Present

Councillor M J Prest (in the Chair)

Councillor	R A Baker P Bardon M A Barningham D M Blades Mrs C S Cookman G W Dadd S P Dickins Mrs B S Fortune A W Hall K G Hardisty R W Hudson D Hugill	Councillor	C A Les J Noone Ms C Palmer Mrs C Patmore B Phillips M S Robson C Rooke Mrs I Sanderson A Wake Mrs J Watson S Watson D A Webster
	N A Knapton		P R Wilkinson

Also in Attendance

Honorary	R I Andrew	Honorary	Mrs J Imeson, OBE
Alderman	J E Fletcher	Alderman	Mrs S M Latter

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors G W Ellis and R Kirk

C.1 **CHAIRMAN**

It was proposed by Councillor C A Les and seconded by Councillor Mrs B S Fortune that Councillor S P Dickins be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor S P Dickins be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(The Chairman then signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair).

C.2 VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor D Blades and seconded by Councillor P R Wilkinson that Councillor A W Hall be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor A W Hall be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(The Vice-Chairman then signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office).

C.3 ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHAIRMAN OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chairman announced that he would be supporting the Herriot Hospice as his chosen charity for his term of office.

C.4 **LEADER OF COUNCIL**

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs B S Fortune and seconded by Councillor B Phillips that Councillor M S Robson be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2019. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor M S Robson be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2019.

C.5 CABINET MEMBERS AND DELEGATION OF FUNCTIONS

The Chief Executive presented a report which asked the Leader to inform the Council of the appointments to the Cabinet for 2015/16 and asked the Council to consider approving the Scheme of Delegation for Officers.

THE DECISION:

That:-

(a) the appointments to Cabinet by the Leader for 2015/16 be noted as follows:-

Councillor Peter Wilkinson - Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Economic Development and Finance

Councillor Brian Phillips - Portfolio Holder for Environmental and

Planning Services

Councillor Nigel Knapton - Portfolio Holder for Support Services

Councillor Mrs Bridget Fortune - Portfolio Holder for Customer and Leisure

Services

(b) that the Scheme of Delegation for Officers be approved.

C.6 <u>ALLOCATIONS OF SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND</u> OUTSIDE BODIES

In order to comply with the Council's Constitution, the Chief Executive asked the Council to consider approving the appointment of various Committees and appointments to Outside Bodies.

The report also sought approval to waive proportionality rules in respect of the membership of the Standards Hearings Panel; confirm that the Scrutiny Committee continued to be responsible for crime and disorder issues; appoint the Cabinet Portfolio holder for Environment and Planning Services as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership; appoint the Deputy Leader of the Council as the District Council's Member of the North Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel and appoint the Portfolio Holder for Support Services as the Council's representative on the Parking and Traffic Regulation Outside London Adjudication Joint Committee.

THE DECISION:

That:-

- (1) the Council appoints the Committees indicated at Annex 'A' of the report;
- (2) proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of the Standards Hearings Panel;
- (3) Membership of the Committees be that shown at Annex 'B' of the report;
- (4) the Council appoints as the Council's representatives on Outside Bodies identified with an asterisk within Annex 'C of the report those Members indicated against those Outside Bodies;
- (5) the Council appoints Mr B Ferguson, Mr R C Pennington and Mr D Rudd as the Council's Independent Persons of the Standards Hearings Panel and Parish Councillors Ms B Slater, Ms G Lidster and Mrs C A Artingstoll as Parish Council representatives on the Standards Hearings Panel;
- (6) the Scrutiny Committee be responsible for crime and disorder issues;
- (7) the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Environmental and Planning Services be appointed as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership;
- (8) the Deputy Leader of the Council be appointed as the District Council's Member of the North Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel; and

(9)	the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Support Services be appointed as the representative on The Parking and Traffic Regulation Outside London Adjudication Joint Committee.
The r	meeting closed at 2.40 pm
Chair	rman of the Council